House Speaker Announces Committees, Chairs for the Ohio 132nd Session (2017-2019)

Speaker Cliff Rosenberger (R-Clarksville) on Thursday announced his slate of committees for the 132nd General Assembly along with chairs and vice-chairs.

As previously revealed by the chamber leader, the list of legislative panels includes a new Aging & Long-Term Care Committee. Also new is the Federalism & Interstate Relations Committee, and the speaker split the Judiciary panel into two focusing separately on criminal and civil justice.

The announcement follows the appointment of Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell) to again lead the Finance Committee.

Full committee memberships will be unveiled later this month.

The House committee list and chairs are:

Agriculture & Rural Development

Chair: Rep. Brian Hill (R-Zanesville)

Vice chair: Rep. Kyle Koehler (R-Springfield)

Armed Services, Veterans Affairs and Homeland Security

Chair: Rep. Terry Johnson (R-McDermott)

Vice chair: Rep. Laura Lanese (R-Grove City)

Aging and Long Term Care

Chair: Rep. Steven Arndt (R-Port Clinton)

Vice chair: Rep. Dorothy Pelanda (R-Marysville)

Civil Justice

Chair: Rep. Jim Butler (R-Oakwood)

Vice chair: Rep. Jim Hughes (R-Upper Arlington)

Community & Family Advancement

Chair: Rep. Tim Ginter (R-Salem)

Vice chair: Rep. Margy Conditt (R-Liberty Township)

Community & Family Advancement Subcommittee

Minority Affairs: Chair to be determined

Criminal Justice

Chair: Rep. Nathan Manning (R-North Ridgeville)

Vice chair: Rep. Jeff Rezabek (R-Clayton)

Economic Development, Commerce & Labor

Chair: Rep. Ron Young (R-Leroy Township)

Vice chair: Rep. Anthony DeVitis (R-Green)

Education & Career Readiness

Chair: Rep. Andrew Brenner (R-Powell)

Vice chair: Rep. Marilyn Slaby (R-Copley)

Energy & Natural Resources

Chair: Rep. Al Landis (R-Dover)

Vice chair: Rep. Christina Hagan (R-Alliance)

Federalism & Interstate Relations

Chair: Rep. Kristina Roegner (R-Hudson)

Vice chair: Rep. Scott Lipps (R-Franklin)


Chair: Rep. Ryan Smith (R-Bidwell)

Vice chair: Rep. Scott Ryan (R-Granville Township)

Finance subcommittees

Agriculture, Development and Natural Resources (Chair: Rep. Andy Thompson, R-Marietta)

Health and Human Services (Chair: Rep. Mark Romanchuk, R-Mansfield)

Higher Education (Chair: Rep. Rick Perales, R-Beavercreek)

Transportation (Chair: Rep. Rob McColley, R-Napoleon)

Primary and Secondary Education (Chair: Rep. Bob Cupp, R-Lima)

State Government & Agency Review (Chair: Rep. Keith Faber, R-Celina)

Financial Institutions, Housing and Urban Development

Chair: Rep. Jonathan Dever (R-Madeira)

Vice chair: Rep. Robert Sprague (R-Findlay)

Government Accountability & Oversight

Chair: Rep. Bill Blessing (R-Colerain Township)

Vice chair: Rep. Bill Reineke (R-Tiffin)


Chair: Rep. Steve Huffman (R-Tipp City)

Vice chair: Rep. Theresa Gavarone (R-Bowling Green)

Higher Education & Workforce Development

Chair: Rep. Mike Duffey (R-Worthington)

Vice chair: Rep. Niraj Antani (R-Miamisburg)


Chair: Rep. Tom Brinkman (R-Mt. Lookout)

Vice chair: Rep. Mike Henne (R-Clayton)

Public Utilities

Chair: Rep. Bill Seitz (R-Cincinnati)

Vice chair: Rep. Rick Carfagna (R-Genoa Township)

Rules & Reference

Chair: Speaker Clifford A. Rosenberger (R-Clarksville)

Vice chair: Rep. Kirk Schuring (R-Canton)

State & Local Government

Chair: Rep. Marlene Anielski (R-Walton Hills)

Vice chair: Rep. Stephen Hambley (R-Brunswick)

Transportation & Public Safety

Chair: Rep. Doug Green (R-Mt. Orab)

Vice chair: Rep. Dave Greenspan (R-Westlake)

Ways & Means

Chair: Rep. Tim Schaffer (R-Lancaster)

Vice chair: Rep. Gary Scherer (R-Circleville)

dated:  Thursday, January 12, 2017